Pocochina’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

yes, dammit, i’m angry

Posted by pocochina on November 2, 2007

Do not tell me not to be angry.

Do not dismiss my concerns as PMS.

Do not try to discredit me with my own body.

Do not tell me I lose my humanity and citizenship should I become pregnant

….whether I stay pregnant or not.

Do not tell me I cannot drive.  Driving means freedom, which is why we are so terrified that women do it.

Do not tell me I am a slut.

Do not tell me I am frigid.

Do not expect me to read your mind and then conform with your expectations.

Do not come into my space and tell me what is wrong with me.

There is nothing wrong with me.

Do not act as if I, and everyone with a body sorta-like mine, do not belong in a classroom, work space, or voting booth.  I do.  We do.  You are just a jerk.

Do not place the blame on me.

Do not say I just have no sense of humor.  I have a great sense of humor.  You are just not funny.

Do not blame me because you are not funny.

When I say you are not funny, and are in fact seriously disturbing not just me, but other people who, because of the way you behave, do not speak up, don’t tell another hateful, not-funny “joke.”  You’re still not funny.  You’re still just a jerk.

Do not try to discredit me because I am angry.  I don’t want to be angry.  But when I see something to get angry about, I get angry and you enjoy that it hurts people.

Do not expect me to constantly give you the benefit of the doubt.  I don’t owe you the benefit of the doubt.

In fact, I don’t owe you anything.  Stop expecting me to think that I do.

Do not tell me not to be angry.

Leave a Reply

 
