Pocochina’s Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Blog Against Racism

Posted by pocochina on August 13, 2007

I am a little late to the boat, I believe, for International Blog Against Racism Week.  But I think it’s deeply important to say, though it should need no saying, that I am against racism.

I am against racism because I am a feminist, which means I am in favor of equality for all women, whether they look like me or not.

I am against racism because every tiny racist assumption made anywhere lends credence to the ugly, violent terrorists that we euphamistically call “hate groups.”

I am against racism because my mother’s mother’s mother and my father’s grandfather’s father came across the Atlantic for a better life, and faced irrational and repulsive hatred and discrimination, just like the people who come east and west and north every day.  I am against the racist impulse of some Americans to restrict the numbers of new Americans – because these new Americans are the essence of what makes us Americans.

I am against racism because as much as I try to know, to read, as hard as I worked on my diploma that says “International Affairs and Women’s Studies” but which means “priviliged and intelligent and oh so very lucky” I am shocked and hurt anew all the time by the horrors faced in the name of “ethnicity” or “nationalism” or “racial purity.”

I am against racism because right now, men and women who wear the colors of my nation are killing brown people because my government has decided that it doesn’t like that particular shade of brown.  I am against racism because I protested and voted and volunteered and still failed, because we are still there.

I am against racism because I am tired of the dirty looks I have to give at family dinners, and all the times before I was brave enough to give those dirty looks.

I am against racism, but I need to be better and smarter and braver.  And I am, and I will be.

Leave a Reply

 
